BWOYA Winners

Corporate Category

Funeka Montjane Chief Executive: Personal and Business Banking, at Standard Bank, South Africa

Before joining Standard Bank, Montjane worked at PricewaterhouseCoopers where she became a partner at the age of 27. She’s the winner of several awards including the Top Woman Executive and Top Woman of the Year in Business at the 2012 Top Women Awards.


Education Category

Prof Mamokgethi Phakeng Deputy Vice Chancellor: Research and Internationalisation at UCT

Phakeng is the founder of the Adopt-a-learner Foundation, which provides financial and educational support to students from township and rural areas to acquire higher education qualifications.

In 2008, she became the first South African woman to be appointed to co-chair a study commissioned by the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction. Phakeng holds a PhD in Mathematics Education from the University of the Witwatersrand, and has won several awards for her research and community work, the latest being the Order of the Baobab, Silver.


Government Category

Dr Rolene Wagner CEO at Frere Hospital- Eastern Cape

Turning around a large and poorly performing a public hospital is not easy task. However, it is one that Wagner has made progress in. Under her leadership, Frere Hospital is pursuing its vision to become a people-focused centre of medical excellence. Achievements since joining the hospital in 2012 include launching a training programme for specialist doctors from around the world.


Social Entrepreneurship

Mary Raletooane Director at Itekeng Disable Centre for disabled, orphaned and vulnerable children.

A born community leader, Raletooane has initiated a number of community engagement projects. These include Setsoto Women Empowerment, Adopt-a-River, and a sewing group for unemployed women. She was a matron at Itekeng Centre before being appointed Director.


Science and Technology

Prof Leslie Petrik Scientist and Lecturer at University of the Western Cape

As a scientist, Petrik has worked closely with the water, power, mining and hydrocarbon processing industry to better manage waste and effluents to find feasible routes for its reuse or water recovery. Since 2003, she has graduated 18 PhD, 42 MSc students and mentored 20 Post-doctoral fellows who have entered the marketplace with sought after skills. She has also published 116 peer reviewed journal articles and presented 251 conference papers or posters at local and international conferences, written 13 book chapters, 56 technical reports to industry and holds several patents.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Graça Machel politician, businesswoman and humanitarian

Best known for her work in the areas of education and human rights, Machel is also a global advocate for the development and empowerment of women and children in Africa. In (date), she established the Graça Machel Trust, which works across the continent to advocate for the protection of women and children’s rights and dignity. The objective of the Trust is to inspire a young generation to create societies that value and uphold social justice.


2000 - 2015

Year Corporate Entrepreneur
2015 Nosipho Damasane Siwisa, Chief Executive Officer for the Richards Bay Coal Termina Lee Den Hond, Owner of Blue Platinum Events
2014 Roswitha Becker, GM, Lufthansa Global Load Control
2013 Cristina Teixeira , CFO, Group Five DR Thandi Ndlovu, Executive Chairman, Motheo Construction Group
2012 Ms Dawn Rowlands, CEO, Aegis Media Ms Margaret Hirsch, COE, Hirschs
2011 Ms Philisiwe Buthelezi, CEO, NEF Dr Nondumiso Mzizane, Founder, Sikelela Medical
2010 Ms Santie Botha, GCMO, MTN – the only winner  
2009 Ms Venete Klein, ED, ABSA Ms Carol Weaving, MD, Thebe Exhibitions
2008 Ms Mardia van der Walt-Korsten, CEO, T-Systems Ms Chichi Maponya, MD, Maponya Group
2007 Thoko Mokgosi-Mwantembe, CEO, Hewlett Packard SA (Pty) Ltd Renee Silverstone, CEO, Jupiter Drawing Room
2006 Gloria Serobe, Angela Dick
2005 Monhla Hlahla, Managing Director, ACSA  
2004 Futhi Mtoba, Chairman, Deloittes  
2003 Nicky Newton-King, Deputy CEO, JSE Securities Exchange  
2002 Kim McFarland, Chief Operations Officer and Chief Financial Officer, Investec Asset Management  
2001 Maria Ramos, Director General, Department of Finance  
2000 Irene Charnley, Executive Director, Telecommunications, Johnnic Holdings Ltd  

1990 - 1999

Year Corporate
1999 Dr Anna Mokgokong, Chairman, Malesele Investment Holdings
1998 Sindi Zilwa, National Managing Partner, Nkonki Sizwe Ntsaluba, CA South Africa
1997 Bronwen Phillips, Managing Director, Fridge Master SA (Pty) Ltd
1996 Pam Golding, Chairman, Pam Golding Properties
1995 Wendy Lucas-Bull, Executive Director, Rand Merchant Bank
1994 Veronica Devine: Managing Director, Justine Cosmetics
1993 Dawn Mokhobo, Senior Manager (Human Resources), SKIM
1992 Margerett Macfarlane, Executive Director, Ziton SA (Pty) Ltd
1991 Dr Jocelyne Kane-Berman, Chief Medical Superintendent, Groote Schuur Hospital
1990 Yvonne Lottering, Managing Director, Coin Security Group

1980 - 1989

Year Corporate
1989 Pru Pfuhl, Managing Director, Biggie Best
1988 Carol Scott, Managing Director, Imperial Car Rental
1987 Joan Joffe, CEO, Joffe Associates
1986 Jane Raphaely, Managing Director, Jane Raphaely and Associates
1985 Dr Anette v d Merwe, Superintendent, JG Strijdom Hospital
1984 June Kritzinger, Marketing Director, Clicks Stores
1983 Reeva Forman, Managing Director, Reeva Forman (Pty) Ltd
1982 Marina Maponya, Director, Maponya Group of Companies
1981 Margaret Lessing, Director, TWS Communications
1980 Val Mickleburgh, Marketing Director, Total SA (Pty) Ltd

Headline Sponsor




BWA Durban: Valentine's Breakfast...

Read More ...



BWA Chair Message 2017...

Read More ...




Read More ...




BWA PE - New Members Welcome!...

Read More ...



Networking 27 Feb 2018...

Read More ...



BWA Port Elizabeth - Annual General Meeting!...

Read More ...